DUMPLINGS WITH LENTILS / VEGAN

Dumplings ( Pierogi )… the most typical polish dish. Mostly stuffed with meat or cole…boooring. I have decided to try something new. Sooo…I have dug through my kitchen cabinets and I found some lentils.

2 cups of lentils, 4 cups of water, 1 hour …that is how magic happens.

Ingredients:

2 cups of lentils

4 cups of water

1 onion

2 carrots

black cumin

thyme

peper

salt

Pastry:

2 cups of flour

1/2 cup of warm water

DSC_0506

I have coocked the lentils and poured out the water. I fried onion, carrots and spices, I added them to the lentils. Then I  ground all the  ingredients ( if the mixture is too thick you can add some water ).

DSC_0510

I am not making it difficult with the pastry. Flour, warm water, a little bit of kneading and… this is it . The pastry is then always fluffy  ( and you can warm your hands ) .

DSC_0507

So we have the pastry and we need to roll it out. With a cup we can cut out little circles, every circle needs to be filled with stuffing. Then we are folding the circle in half and closing the edges.

DSC_0513

Now… the last what you need to do is to put the dumplings ( pierogi ) into the boiling salted water for about 3- 4 minutes . And that’s how we get delicious dumplings, hot and ready to eat.

Tadaam

DSC_0520

Bon Appetit!

Gosia

Leave a Reply

