KON MARI SERIES : DECLUTTERING MY CLOSET

DSC_0222

Decluttering with the Kon Mari Method was something I really wanted to try. I love organizing and decluttering stuff and do it regularly. But I haven’t try this method yet. I’ve seen countless videos on You Tube and I’ve got inspired. I wanted to try it out. Will it be as amazing as everyone says?…

The Kon Mari Method was  invented by Marie Kondo, japanese organizing /  decluttering guru. She wrote a book ” The Life – Changing Magic of Tidying Up” where she explains her way of organizing all your things. There are many useful tips and a certain way and order in which you do things. But the bottom line is : you have to touch every item and ask yourself ” Does is spark joy?” . If it does, if it makes you happy, then it can stay. If it doesn’t, then it has to go. And you start organizing your space / home with clothes.

So I did just that – started with my clothes. I’ve put ALL my clothes and accessories ( no shoes ) together and started the whole process.

Putting all my clothes in one place

DSC_0242

DSC_0237

DSC_0231

DSC_0233

DSC_0234

There were few “MAYBE” cases so I had to try them on

DSC_0247

Things I’m keeping – THEY SPARK JOY for me

DSC_0251

DSC_0252

Things that NO LONGER spark joy for me so I’m donating them

DSC_0263

DSC_0261

The final result

DSC_0256

Now I only have things I love in my closet

DSC_0258

In those boxes I keep my summer clothes ( 1 of them is empty )

DSC_0257

DSC_0259

I must say that ’till about two years ago I had a LOT of clothes and accessories! I loved collecting and buying them, both new and second hand, and I even felt emotionally attached to them. But the last two years I started the slow process of decluttering and buing much less stuff. I would say that I’ve got rid of about 60 – 70% of my clothes, accessories and shoes since then. Now I’m also buying only the things I really need.

I was curious if I will get rid of many things using the Kon Mari Method because I declutter my closet every few months. I was surprised that so many things didn’t spark joy for me anymore. And so I got rid of many more things than usually when I declutter! That was a great experiance and so liberating. Now I could literally put all my clothes ( except for the jackets ) in one closet. That’s amazing!

DSC_0255

I really recommend trying out this method of decluttering your clothes.

If you already tried it let my know how did you liked it.

Greetings, LINDA

4 thoughts on “KON MARI SERIES : DECLUTTERING MY CLOSET

Leave a Reply

